HENSON CARGILL: What's My Name (1967-1970)

HENSON CARGILL: What's My Name (1967-1970)

Regular price $12.50 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.

From the people who brought you ‘Hillbillies In Hell’…

Stellar songs, heartfelt performances, the finest Nashville players and the greatest set of tonsils to ever wrap themselves around Activist Country-Pop…

Here are the almost forgotten masterpieces of Henson Cargill, sourced directly from the Monument Records vault and presented together for the first time on LP.

Hear Henson’s smooth baritone lambast apathy (‘None of My Business’), chide neglectful parenting (‘Skip A Rope’), ponder the byzantine tableaux of love (‘Four Shades of Love’), dismiss the space race and dissect de-evolution (‘Going Backwards’) and name-check both Adolph Eichmann and Cecil B. DeMille in one very lysergic song (’What’s my Name?’).

Across 1967-1970, Cargill pioneered a unique and radical New Nashville Sound. Swinging, dobro-led shuffles with controversial, cosmic/striking themes and insightful lyrics.

Dystopian and defiant anti-war laments. Tender and timeless brooding ballads of regret. Wise, worldly and weary. 16 prime cuts of Psyche-Gnashville brilliance.

Witness the Hillbilly Zen of ‘Row Row Row’, the Apocalyptic revelations of ‘This Generation Shall Not Pass’ and the acerbic disestablishmentarianism of ‘Reprints (Plastic People)’.

Nashville 1967, something was in the water and Henson Cargill drank his fill.

  • Full Dynamic Range 2023 Remaster direct from the first generation analogue master tapes
  • Limited Edition Deluxe Gatefold LP with exclusive scholarly liner notes
  • Limited to 500 Copies
01. Reprints (Plastic People)
02. None Of My Business
03. Skip A Rope
04. Row Row Row
05. This Generation Shall Not Pass
06. Wildflower
07. Hemphill Kentucky Consolidated Coal Mine
08. Johnny One Time
09. What's My Name?
10. Going Backwards
11. Four Shades Of Love
12. It's Over
13. Six White Horses
14. She Thinks I'm On That Train
15. Husbands And Wives
16. Bless 'Em All

Share this Product